starting strength gym

Thread: Learning the Squat Clean | Josh Wells

Default Learning the Squat Clean | Josh Wells

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Starting Strength Coach Josh Wells demonstrates how to learn to squat clean after gaining proficiency with the power clean.

Most folks would call this a power clean into a front squat, no? Is there an advantage from a strength development perspective to do it this way? Or is this more for folks who want to work on Oly lifts? Why isn't the lifter in the video being cued to fully extend the hips and knees? I'm pretty bad with watching others form but it didn't look like he was really extending all the way. I understand you guys teach the "jump and catch," but I had always thought that entailed a full extension of the hips and knees. Sorry if these are dumb questions. I've dabbled in Oly lifts but I'm no expert. Was just curious. Thanks for the video in any case!

Josh Wells is offline Starting Strength Coach
    big-O

Quote Originally Posted by Steven Z View Post
    Most folks would call this a power clean into a front squat, no? Is there an advantage from a strength development perspective to do it this way? Or is this more for folks who want to work on Oly lifts? Why isn't the lifter in the video being cued to fully extend the hips and knees? I'm pretty bad with watching others form but it didn't look like he was really extending all the way. I understand you guys teach the "jump and catch," but I had always thought that entailed a full extension of the hips and knees. Sorry if these are dumb questions. I've dabbled in Oly lifts but I'm no expert. Was just curious. Thanks for the video in any case!
    Yes, we teach a power clean into a front squat initially because we want the lifter to catch the bar high. The lifter will gradually catch the bar lower and lower into a front squat position as the weight gets heavier.