starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Chinups strength at all time lowest.

Default Chinups strength at all time lowest.

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Age 35
    Height 5ft 11"
    Bodyweight 95kg
    Squat 92.5kg
    Deadlift 125kg
    PC 52.5kg
    Bench 60kg
    OHP 47.5kg

Hi guys first post.

Ive been using LP on and off for really the past 10 years. Would do 3-4 months at a time, then stop for around 6 months, rinse and repeat through the years.

Im currently 3 weeks into my current LP.

But during my last two B workouts ive encountered something ive not experienced before. Ive always been reasonably descent at chin-ups, 3 weeks in I would swap my B workout deadlift for powercleans and chin-ups. Normally my first chin-up session I would bang out about 6-7 clean reps for my first set, couple weeks later that would be around 10, then onto around 12-14 a few weeks after that. My first 6 reps have always been pretty explosive aswell.

So lockdown has ended, gyms open and im back on LP after about a year. I got 3 weeks in and added my chins as per usual. Approached the bar with my hands chalked and excited to bang them out. But on the first pull it felt like I had plates hanging from me, I struggled to do 1 full chinup (chin over bar) absolutely no explosiveness, felt like somone was hanging onto me. I thought this was pretty strange. So I just made up the excuse that it was to do with my muscle memory not kicking in yet or some bs like that, and the next session I will crack on like the old days.

So today I had my 2nd workout B with chins again, excited to prove myself wrong and full of excitement I took to the bar again, and same thing happened. I persevered and did 3, but if im honest none of them really counted as I couldnt get my chin over the bar.