starting strength gym
Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Stalling on deadlift at pathetically weak weight. What is going on?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Quote Originally Posted by TwigsthePnoDude View Post
    Good callout, I had thought that by lifting at submaximal weights it wouldn't be as fatiguing.
    It looks like you are sorted out but for future reference (for you and anybody who finds this thread in a search), cutting 10% of the weight but doubling total number of sets does not count as a deload. I am not an expert on strength training so I am very conservative in my comments. If you were training for a distance running event, found yourself overreaching, and slowed your pace by 10% but doubled your distance, I would state with certainty that it won't end well. It seems that this would apply equally to strength training, but I don't have the expertise or experience to speak with the same level of confidence.

I can say confidently that what is sufficient to *prevent* overtraining is *not* sufficient to *resolve* overtraining. Runners who overtrain often need a full two weeks of nothing but leisurely walks in order to kick start the recovery process. I have read all of the SS books multiple times and, assuming I'm not completely devoid of reading comprehension, the program seems designed to ensure that one never hits the ugliness of overtraining by reacting to the first signs of accumulated fatigue. That's why the deloads and resets have to be taken seriously. If you take an unnecessary deload or reset, you slow yourself down a little. If you don't take one that's needed, you can get wrecked.

Quote Originally Posted by Eric Schexnayder View Post
    Hard to get much from a single and from this angle, but right off the bat your back is not tight enough because you are jerking the bar off the floor.