starting strength gym

Thread: How to tell if I am an emergency weight lifting trainee or can start novice program

Question How to tell if I am an emergency weight lifting trainee or can start novice program

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi I weigh about 277.5 lbs and my height is 6'2" and do not yet know what my body fat is just yet. I got a few questions.

1. I was wondering based on that height and weight alone would that be considered (from what I read about) a Emergency Weight Lifting Trainee? Also what body fat tool is best because I was thinking of buying the calipres.

2. What body fat % is considered Emergency Weight Lifting Trainee and what Weight, Bodyfat % is recommended to begin the novice strength training program you got on your app.

3. At the moment I cannot run a long distance before having to start walking again to catch my breath. Not able to do a chin-up at the moment either but I can bench press (haven't done it for almost a year now so I don't know what I can press anymore). Just wondering if the novice strength training program with cardio would be alright or if I should start off with a different weight program that has cardio

5. Long story short, would doing the strength program and cardio help me lose weight and be able to do more active stuff like being able to run and chin ups. Oh and to get rid of my belly. I hope this made sense as I suck at explaining things.

An emergency weight loss trainee is someone who desperately needs to lose weight to stay alive. Think 6'2" 375lb, not 6'2" 277lb. This is not you. You actually have the same BMI as me and I can run the program just fine. You are a novice strength trainee who just happens to be fluffy.

If you are able to complete the lifts in a safe manner, you are good to go; start running the program ASAP.