starting strength gym

Thread: Two topics for firefighters

Default Two topics for firefighters

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    John Musser’s Starting Strength article for firefighters was a great read. Strength Training and the Firefighter | John Musser

I’ve been volunteering for a few years and want to improve my performance. I’m an intermediate lifter, so my novice gains are behind me.

1. Can we continue the discuss about reducing air consumption? I understand that it’s a function of both physical fitness and management of anxiety during a stressful situation. Does anyone here have additional advice for getting more time out an air cylinder?

2. With the SCBA pack on, my upper back and neck fatigue first. One thing that helps is adjusting the shoulder straps to distribute some of the load to my hips. Any other tips on this? Yes, I’m already deadlifting and doing chins.

Thank you,

One of our coaches here at SS Chicago is a firefighter. Might have to submit a version of this as a part two to Musser's article, since not everyone reads the boards. This is what he had to say:

'Aggressive firefighting is an important part of my life. So, this topic is close to my heart. The fire service, like the military, is all caught up in this idea of making people small, capable of running 4 miles in whatever who cares time, and all that normal “endurance” nonsense we’ve all been bathed in. But your here, and that’s a GREAT start, because it means you know that strength is at the core of anything you can hope to get done. I didn’t look through your posts to find your lifting log but keep pushing your strength up as you can. Make sure you’re carrying reasonable body weight. If you’re an intermediate, you should have an idea of what it means to be strong. Continuing to train is imperative for you, and for your crew.