starting strength gym

Thread: 16 Week Transformation

Default 16 Week Transformation

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum, this my first post. I've been lifting for a couple of years but primarily split routine bodybuilding routines. When I follow my lifting diet perfectly (about 4000 calories/day) I can gain pretty steadily. I am 5' 9", 160 llbs, and 22 years old. My junior year of high school I weighed 127, that was about 5 years ago. So I havn't gained too much since then, but I was wrestling and not trying to gain weight. Now, I want to get both stronger and heavier.

I will be following Rippetoe's program, but I will do it as a 5x5, as I feel I can handle the extra volume. I know it's dicouraged but I'm going to throw in some extra bicep curls and tricep extensions with the workouts. Started last Wednesday doing Squat, Deadlift, Overhead Press, Pendlay Rows, and Bicep curls. Numbers were:

squat:205
    dead:265
    press:85
    Row:145
    didnt work it Wednesday but bench is about 175x5
    Curl:40 llb dumbells

All 5x5.

Along with the lifting I will be following the GOMAD diet and eating a few small meals throughout the day.

Comments encouraged, and I will be updating the Log continuously through the program. I am going to do 8 weeks at least on the GOMAD, but 16 weeks on the Rippetoe. I think this forum is awesome and will definetly keep my motivation up. The goal at the end of the 16 weeks:

Body Weight: 180
    squat: 350
    dead: 335
    press: 145
    bench: 245

Next workout is tomorrow, Christmas messed up the schedule, but I will hit it Mon, Wed, Fri this week as well. Tomorrow I will post the bench numbers along with the other lifts.
    Last edited by Will1987; 12-25-2009 at 11:31 PM.

I will be following Rippetoe's program, but I will do it as a 5x5, as I feel I can handle the extra volume.