starting strength gym
Page 1 of 44 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Geezer training and Iron induced Musings

Default Geezer training and Iron induced Musings

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have been working the Starting Strength approach for about two years. Previously I had not had any serious weightlifting since high school, 40 plus years ago. Now, I am doing a geezer modified linear progression (LP), twice a week and adding weight after I complete three successful sets of five.

I don’t train with headphones so the rest periods between sets are an enjoyable “me time”, ergo the “iron musings”. I lift at a local commercial gym, which is sometimes interesting. The gym has one slightly used squat rack and a bunch of heavily used Hammer Strength machines. I also work in an office so I sit on my butt most of the day, so the gym is an essential survival tool.

I am approximately 61 years old, 230, and 5ft -10in. current lifts for sets of five are
    Squat 315 (weight listed in pounds); Deadlift -330; Bench 180; Press 150; Power Clean 150.

I am recovering from a few old guy injuries. I used Bill Starr rehab and now I am using the LP to recover.
    Jan 30 - squat 310, bench 175 dead lift 320,
    I reset my deadlift to correct my form along the lines of what Kong told Rusty Whaits. The weight went up easy. Thanks to Kong’s hint about the knees being under the chest. I wonder about the correct way to reset a deadlift between sets, do you hold on to the bar or let go and stand up and do a complete reset.