starting strength gym
Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Training in exile

Default Training in exile: A skinny-fat Dad's quest to be manly

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'll throw my hat in the ring, too.

I'm a 6'2" 200# 41 yo father of a 4yo and a 2yo. I've led a very active life. I graduated HS at 175#. Lots of basketball growing up and as a young man in Florida. A stop in Atlanta saw me swell to 220#. Then I was exiled to the North country and started a life of adventure. Lots of white water kayaking, skiing, etc. Through it all I always weighed within 10 pounds of 200, but I was always doughy compared to my thrill seeking friends.

I never really lifted weights until I was about 30. I could barely bench 100#. I'd lift on an off for the next decade, but never in anything that even resembled a "program". I was just chucking around small pieces of iron with horrible form and no goals.

Marriage and kids made me less active outside of biking, and while I didn't put on much weight, my sedentary life made me even doughier. After my wife starting making fun of my skinny arms, I decided enough is enough.

I want to ski w/ my kids when I'm 60. Hell, I want to ski w/ my kids when I'm 70. I want to run with them, throw a ball with them. Live with them. So this winter I started looking around. I found Stronglifts and started that in my basement on Feb 11, 2013. Wanting more info, I found this place and am very happy I did.

Here's where I started (SL has you start w/ low weights):

202#
    25.5% BF (calipers)
    39" waist
    110 Squat
    90 Bench
    45 OHP (seated)
    65 BB Row
    135 DL

I'm now in week 9. Some of my struggles are chronicled in other threads, but I've been making LPs consistently except for one time when I over trained / under ate. More here if you're interested.

Here are my latest stats. All lifts are PRs, as embarrassing as they are:

201#
    21% BF (calipers)
    37.5" waist