starting strength gym
Page 1 of 18 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Jake's Log

Default Jake's Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I've been reading this site for almost three years, this is my first attempt at social media. Obligatory stuff follows.

6'5"

270-280 (I don't own a scale)

Fairly mediocre, and probably familiar, background: got into barbell "training," discovered Starting Strength, "did" Starting Strength, moved on to something else when I could have stuck it out and still made progress, etc. etc. Then, broke my left clavicle snowboarding this winter, which gave me an opportunity to LP the lifts again, with success. Logging now for accountability, that kind of thing.

Best Lifts of varying degrees:

Squat 365x5

Press 200x1, 180x5

Deadlift 420x5

Power Clean 245x3x5

Power Snatch 180

C&J 260

My goals for the end of the year, which realistically means mid-November, are as follows:

Squat 405x5, 450x1

Press 225

Deadlift 500

Power Clean 315

TBR 1.68 (29.5:17.5; what's the golden ratio for this?)

Currently running out LP on Squat and Deadlift. Due to the fracture, I couldn't press or chin, but am able to add that back in currently.
    Last edited by JakeN; 04-29-2016 at 09:08 PM.

Since the fracture, which really wasn't that bad at all, I was able to deadlift light after about two weeks. Three weeks I was back to 315 for 5. This presented a good opportunity to finally use the hook consistently. Was able to start squatting again about 4 weeks ago. Still no cleans, though I can still get 225 easily, but contact with the previously injured area is not pleasant. So, figured I'd just LP until I couldn't, started squatting 275x5x3, added 20, then 10, then 5 lbs. Same with Deadlifts at 315. This past week:

Monday
    Squat 345x5x3

Wednesday
    Light Squat 275x5x2
    Press 105x5x3 (first press workout for ~9 weeks)
    Deadlift 390x5

Friday