starting strength gym

Thread: Adam's Olympic Lifting

Default Adam's Olympic Lifting

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    So, I am back here, at the forums, after almost 10 years.

Many things have changed, but firstly, let me introduce myself (again).

--

My name is Adam.

After reaching something like 170x5 squat (in kgs), 195 kg deadlift and a really unimpressive bench on a SS/texas method as a novice guy, I was drawn to Olympic lifting. Fast forward 7 years or so, here I am.

I am a 35-year-old fairly regular guy from Prague, Czech Republic. I have a PhD in cell biology, and I work full-time as a research scientist in cancer immunology. I am also a dad to two boys (6 and 4) and I play the drums.

My training serves me as a physical maintenance and, I would say, a form of psychotherapy. I don't have the time or grit to train seriously. I do what I can, and I don't usually do what I can't do.

--

Currently, I weigh about 88-90 kilos. In the past, I was as heavy as 102. Stronger, fatter, unhappy.

My all-time PRs are, as for today, 100 kg in the snatch (which would not pass the judges, so let's say 98, which would), and 120 kg in the clean and jerk.
    I have also cleaned 121, jerked from racks 140, recently squatted 168 HB, and pulled 180 kilos.

I competed several times. My competition PRs are 91/116.

--

This training log would serve more as a diary. There is a bit of serious programming involved, at least from time to time, but as life gets in the way, I don't obsess over it.

Let this be an inspiration for fellow full-time working dads, and whoever else may read.

You're welcome here.

--

This is my Instagram profile, so you know I am indeed a real person: https://www.instagram.com/obradam/
    Last edited by Bobr; 09-08-2023 at 01:20 AM.

Week 04-09-2023 - 08-09-2023

I am currently at the end of general prep phase.