starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: 43 Year Old Powerlifter Isn't Competing for a While - Just Trying to Get SWOLE!

Default 43 Year Old Powerlifter Isn't Competing for a While - Just Trying to Get SWOLE!

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Peace everyone! This is my first time keeping a log in this section, at least since the training logs got split into sections (yes, I've been around here that long ). As the title indicates, I've been competing in powerlifting - all USAPL - for quite some time. I did my first meet in 2008. My most recent was April of this year, and I had regressed quite a bit, mostly due to inconsistent training and eating. Over the next several months, training got more sporadic, my weight fluctuated, and I got weaker.

So for now, my focus is training for size. My goal is to regularly wake up weighing 229 mostly muscular pounds after a full night of sleep. I expect that I'll eventually compete again at some point, and I want to be as close to the 231 lbs weight limit as possible. If I get back on the platform in 2020, the earliest will be USAPL Mid-Atlantic Regionals, which have been in August the last 3 years.

I weighed 215.2 lbs on Sunday morning after a weird night of "sleep". It was 214.6 the week before.

I've been experimenting with some high intensity training (HIT) recently, but in the last 2 weeks, I decided give a dedicated effort to Doggcrapp (DC) training for the next few months. It has been around for about 20 years, at least in the public domain. You can google it for all of the details, but the most important elements IMO are: