starting strength gym
Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Joe's training for life...

Default Joe's training for life...

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    The title kind of sums it up. I'm training for life now-a-days. I competed in powerlifting and strongman back in the day. I was a personal trainer working for myself for 20 years (ended that almost 7 years ago now). Now I've got a "normal" job. I'm a Husband, and a father and these things take priority. However, I've seen the benefit of health and staying strong first hand so I try to emphasize that priority to my family all the time.
    I always seem to "try" different programs and honestly I always just go back to doing what I feel like. I'm currently 46 and have been training for 30+ years so the thought that an online guru will know my body better than myself is funny. I've also looked for advice from some of these people and they've even told me the same. It's just hard for me to accept my biggest numbers are probably behind me. LOL. Life goes on.

So, fun stuff:
    Best Squat - 555, also did 315 for a set of 20 once and did 315 for 10 x 10 once
    Best Bench - 425, better with singles, did 315 x 10 only twice in my life
    Best Deadlift - 675, missed 675 probably close to 20 times before finally getting it. I've pulled 405 x 31 reps at Dave Palumbo's Bros vs Pros. I pulled 500 x 16 at a BBing show as the entertainment between pre-judging and the finals. And I pulled 585 x 7.
    So, I was probably best built for pulling. LOL, but I love benching.