starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Fat Guy Belt Questions

Default Fat Guy Belt Questions

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Never used a belt before. Thinking about putting an order in for an SS belt. Big investment for me, especially if I do the double-ply, but my lower back is staying a little strained the past 3 or 4 workouts, it's been weak for years (prone to spasm/locking up on me when I'm weak), but I believe right now it's because I am loosing form as my deadlifts get heavy. Trying to focus on resetting each rep, and I've widened my stance a few inches so my gut can fit between my thighs. Advice welcome, but not my primary question here. Feels like the sooner I get a belt the better, but I'm a novice, so correction welcome.

NLP; week 5, Fat guy - significantly overweight at 5'10" 277. Waist down an inch and a quarter since I started, weight is pretty much been steady, so that's great, but it is what it is right now.

Fat guy questions:
    1) belts I've had in the past (like for pants), will concave on me some, I presume, just from my fat flopping over them. Is this a problem for pudgy guys with weight belts?
    IF SO, what is your advice?
    2) Assuming the SS belt is what i should do now, which one do y'all suggest?
    OR what else would you suggest?
    I've searched forums and read "Belt & Deadlift." I have a long torso, but having never used a belt before, I'm not sure if I would end up wanting a special thinner belt for the DL or if I might be one of those who could use the same belt for Squat and DL. I could always buy what I need most now, and save up for another belt in the next few months, if that's the best tack.

Thank y'all!

Chandler

If you buy a 3” double ply it will provide more support than no belt at all. If you buy the 4” and can’t use it on the DLs (as many of us have discovered), then you are going to need the 3” anyway. So, logically, get the 3”.