starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Anatomical reason not to lift barefoot in a home gym?

Default Anatomical reason not to lift barefoot in a home gym?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I am 69 years old, 5’10’ and 200 lbs. I have been lifting weights at a local gym for about 6 months - using their methodology, which included bench press, deadlift, squat - and a bunch of auxiliary exercises.

I really liked getting under the barbell, but I think Starting Strength makes a lot more sense, and I have started to put together a simple home gym in my garage - I’ve got a power cage, bench and barbell, and as soon as I recover from COVID, I will pick up some used plates.

I have a question about lifting shoes - or actually no shoes.

I can understand that you would not want people working out barefoot in a commercial gym for sanitary reasons, but are there anatomical reasons not to lift in bare feet?

As I said earlier, I am 69 years old, and my wife and I do a lot of social dancing. About 10 years ago, I was having a lot of issues with various kinds of foot/knee pain dancing, and I had seen podiatrists and was trying out various kinds of insoles and supports.

One night my wife and I got to a dance, and I only had one dance shoe. I thought, “What the heck am I going to do?”

So I danced barefoot - and had no foot pain at all. I had blisters on my feet, but no other issues.

After that, I danced barefoot for a while, and that seemed to solve all of the problems with my feet.

Since then, I have sought out minimal footwear - in the sense of very thin soles and no arch support. That pretty much means trail running sandals when the weather is warm and Vibram FiveFingers when the weather is colder.

I wore FiveFingers/sandals when I worked out at the gym for the last 6 months, and did not notice any problems.