starting strength gym
Page 1 of 337 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: ColoWayno's log

Default ColoWayno's log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi folks, I'm a recovering runner who began SS in May of 2008 at about 5' 11'', 160lbs and age 45. I've been doing the Texas Method since June of 2009. I'm now 185 lbs. My wife and 3 of my sons (18, 22 and 24) are all doing SS or Texas Method now. My fourth son (20) is in the Army. I'm now the de facto "Coach" of the family.
    I tried my brand new Chuck Taylors last night for the first time (yes I've been using the dreaded "Gel" running shoes all of this time). I've had problems with high arches in the past. I think I noticed my Power Cleans were easier to rack, though I felt some cramping in my feet. My guess is it is better to just let my feet adapt, as long as it's not creating debilitating problems rather than go out and buy arch supports. Is that reasonable?
    Thanks for any input you might have for me.
    I'm interested in increasing all of my lifts but would like to concentrate on getting my Power Cleans commensurate with the other lifts (at least to body weight). My bench and press have not gone up for quite a while so I've just decided to focus on bench for a few weeks and not alternate weekly.
    I'm being deployed in March (as a contractor) but I should have access to good facilities where I'm going.
    Here are the work sets from my Monday (2-15-10) workout (sets/reps/weight in lbs):
    Squat: 6x3x238
    Bench: 5x5x185 (PR)
    Power Cleans: 6x3x138 (PR)
    Then I did 2 circuits with BW + 35lbs of:
    Dips 8
    Situps on a 45 degree slant: 15
    Chins 6
    Then, although I'm focusing on bench for a while I felt the need to get in some presses:
    Press 1x8x93

I'm going to try to post a video of my Power Cleans as I'm sure this is my most messed up lift.