starting strength gym
Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Old Lady Picks Things up and Puts Them Down Again

Default Old Lady Picks Things up and Puts Them Down Again

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi everyone,

First the waffly introduction: I'm a 50 year-old female human. (I don't thing of myself as "old" or "a lady", but I liked it for the title). I've been training with a wonderful SSC for the past 6 months, and it appears that my novice/advanced novice phase is over. This makes me kind of sad, because my squat isn't even anywhere near my bodyweight yet, but then again, my presses are pretty good for my age and sex. I guess I'm kind of odd in that respect.

The squat has always been hard for me, partly because I started out with basically zero muscle anywhere on my body, but mostly because I had some pretty ingrained habits from a year of squatting MUCH higher than I thought I was, with too much weight. I wish I had had a SSC back then, but I didn't know what that was. Now, getting low enough and keeping my bar path from coming forward is a constant challenge, and I often have to go down in weight to work on form for a while.

Regardless, the idea is to get stronger than I was before, and that's what I'm doing. We're going to be starting a modified Texas Method for me this coming Monday, and I plan on logging that here in this thread (in addition to logging it in my paper training book, obviously).

I'm hoping that there will be other "older" women out there who find my logbook useful in some way. Personally, I find it very difficult to balance fat gain with strength gain. In my 6 months of training, I've gained a lot of belly fat relative to the amount of strength. It's making chin-ups more and more elusive. On the other hand, I don't ever get DOMS. Knock on wood.