starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Zach's HLM Military Log

Default Zach's HLM Military Log

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hello guys, here's my brief introduction:

I wanted to start this log to help inform folks on how to balance running with lifting. Just some additional info to contribute.

Currently I am in the Army, working on my transition back to civilian life. As a result, I have a little more control over what I do for PT in the mornings. I'm going to focus on doing a Heavy-Light-Medium cycle inspired by PPST3. I've had several resets as a result of field training and such, but I have been lifting for about 4 years now. Right now my goals are to remain within Army PT requirements (40 pushups, 40 situps, 16:00 2-mile run), get stronger, and lose about 10 pounds, in that order. Currently, here's how I stand.

6'0" tall, 215 pounds, male. Kind of long arms and legs relative for my body. Did about 55 pushups, 55 situps, and a 14:30 2-mile run back in November. Currently my lifts are kind of all over the place. I'm running out an advanced novice program for my upper body lifts, which has worked out great for me. I'm probably early intermediate for my squats, I just haven't been disciplined with it. I'm probably best at my deadlifts, they regress VERY little while I'm in the field. Current breakdown of lifts are (reps x sets):
    Back squat 335x5x3
    Front squat 240x3x3
    Bench press 222x3x3
    Overhead Press 152x3x3
    Halting Deadlift 435x5x1
    Rack pull 450x5x1
    Power clean 207x3x5 (I don't do these as often as I should)
    Power snatch 145x2x8 (I actually really enjoy these)
    And for backoff sets (I'm somewhere around) Stiff Leg Deadlift 320x7, Snatch Grip Deadlift 315x3.

Currently my weekly breakdown will look something like this:
    Monday: Medium Pull, Adv Nov Press, Heavy Squat
    Tuesday: Sprints