starting strength gym
Page 1 of 132 1231151101 ... LastLast

Thread: Perpendicular to the Surface of the Earth

Default Perpendicular to the Surface of the Earth

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    34 year old male, height 5'10", weight 198.2 lbs. I did my first Texas Method workout today:

Monday 27 October 2014 9:30-10:30am

Volume Day:

Squat
    45 x 5 x 2, 135 x 5, 225 x 3, 255 x 1
    270 x 5 x 5

Bench
    45 x 10, 95 x 8, 135 x 4, 155 x 1
    170 x 5 x 5

Deadlift
    135 x 5, 225 x 3,
    275 x 5

Might post the videos shortly.

I'm a trauma nurse on Chicago's southside, got myself a wife and six (6) kids.

I left the sedentary life and began Starting Strength approximately one year ago, around 1 Nov 2013, weighing ~185 lbs. (log)

Starting weights in 2013: squat 95, bench 75, press 65, deadlift 145. Eventually I weighed 215 lbs. Real progress for seven months or so, then tried to milk advanced novice progression for a few months (an a objective observer might say I just piddled around), and only made progress on the presses. My only lifting experience prior to this was StrongLifts way back in 2010, whilst jogging and trying to cut calories, so predictably I could barely squat 225 or bench 95 at the time. Before that, no athletics or lifting experience.

The most weight I ever handled on the program: squat 330, deadlift 315, bench 195, overhead press 145.

From Sept to now I cut out carbs, reduced calories, and started doing cardio *cough* er, I mean conditioning work. Current bodyweight is ~198 lbs. Before and after shots are here, tain't pretty but at least I'm wearing shorts. I feel skinnier, and noticed that I can tie my shoes without blowing an aneurysm. "Only" my press substantially suffered, being undercut by twenty pounds or more right off the bat. My other lifts just stagnated at the same weights they were stagnating at already.