starting strength gym
Page 1 of 20 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: IronGeek's Training Log Part Deux: Striving for Mediocrity

Default IronGeek's Training Log Part Deux: Striving for Mediocrity

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've had my starting strength training log for about a year now. I've been doing intermediate programming for over six months now, so I'm overdue to move my log to this forum. Of late, I've been browsing the intermediate section a lot to get ideas on what others in the purgatory of intermediate lifting are doing. So, it makes sense that I move my log here now.

Anyway. I'm 45 year old male. 6' 0" and currently hovering in the low 260 lbs range. Just trying to hit a few lifting goals before my age becomes too much of a factor. I'd like to hit a 500lb squat, 315lb bench press (for reps), and 225lb press (I'll take a single). But even if I don't hit those goals, I'm still having fun hitting a PR every now and then.

I'm currently in week 5 of Andy Baker's Garage Gym Warrior program. I like it a lot. I've tried TM after my LP (crashed, burned after 5 weeks). I've also done the generic HLM out of PPST. I got great results with it, but I was programming too much volume and it started to wear me down. Then work travel and a vacation wiped out lots of training time. I decided to try the GGW program as it's made to order for someone elderly like me.

Nuf' said. Here's my first day's log:

5/26/17 - Heavy DL/Press Day
    Squat - 365 x 5 x 3 (w/ pause on 2nd and 3rd sets)
    Press - 160 x 5 x 4
    DL - 425 x 5 (hook grip), 405 x 6 (Snatch grip w/ straps)
    Pullups - BW x 5

Things felt good today. Trying out pullups for the first time in a while. Elbows felt ok. Can't do chinups yet - left elbow says "no".
    Press felt light and easy. I guess these are doing well.