starting strength gym
Page 1 of 16 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Dillon's Intermediate Log

Default Dillon's Intermediate Log

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Figured as I switch over to intermediate programming (very likely NOT justified, admittedly) I'll go ahead and start a log.

31, M, weighed in at 195 lbs last night up from about 180ish when I began my LP back in June. I had some training history so I wasn't a complete novice, but far less experience with barbells than with things like gymnastics style calisthenics and kettlebells. I'm a teacher, so I had nothing to do all summer but lift and recover. As ideal a situation as it was, I still managed to fuck it up a bit by not eating enough at first. Also had some stalls, form issues, and resets along the way, so I didn't make quite as much progress as I'd have liked to, but I'm happy all things considered.

My switch to intermediate programming has more to do with being back to work (and tutoring in the evenings), so not having time for workouts that were consistently pushing 2 hours, and would get longer having to do them during peak hours at a busy commercial gym. Despite the fact that I still could have squeezed some more LP out of myself, I'm switching to a 4 day TM style to make for shorter workouts while hopefully maintaining consistent progress.

The end of my LP basically looked something like:
    Squat: 255x5x3 > 295x3 +265x5x2 pause squats
    Deadlift: 275x5 > 330x5
    Press: 105x5x3 > 125x5x3 or 135x3x3 (think there's lots of room for this to go up since I learned Press 1.5)
    Bench: 155x5x3 > 195x5x3

Last night I started a 4 day TM that'll go something like:
    Day 1: Bench ID, Press VD, Chins
    Day 2: Deadlift ID, Squat VD, Abs
    Day 3: Press ID, Bench VD, Rows
    Day 4: Squat ID, Power Cleans, DL Volume (still figuring out exactly how I want to handle Day 4. Suggestions welcome!)