starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Squat Form Check - Lower back has been killing me

Default Squat Form Check - Lower back has been killing me

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi Coaches,

I've been studying the squat for what feels like six months now (including Starting Strength, which has been tremendous help), but I still get frustrating lower back aches after going through a working set of squatting. No sharp pain, but a bruised muscle ache for days after that really interferes with my next squat session. (Currently squatting Mon, Wed, Fri).

I would love it if someone could form check my squat. I have really long femurs, and legs in general so I am leaning quite a bit forward to try and maintain a good back angle. I feel like I have problems keeping upper back tight. I feel like my hip drive is okay, but I wanted a coach here to take a look to confirm.

I very much appreciate everyone's helpfulness around here!

Here's my squat at 115lb

Here's my squat at 135lb

I suspect you are flexing your spine a little, but since this was filmed from the side, I cannot really say.

Please read the sticky.

I think I am going to go out of mind if I have to type that sentence much more.

You are on your toes, your knees are traveling too far forward, your spine may be flexing, you are underweight, and you need some lifting shoes. Let's get a video from the rear oblique shot from about hip height so that I can confirm this and potentially provide some cues to help.

Quote Originally Posted by Tom Campitelli View Post
    I suspect you are flexing your spine a little, but since this was filmed from the side, I cannot really say.

Please read the sticky.