starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Abdominal hernia....

Default Abdominal hernia....

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    My surgery last year caused a hernia centered around my bellybutton. Does anyone know if using a belt would prevent it from getting worse?

Surgeon says it's 100% certain that it will get worse without surgery.

I started lifting again a few weeks ago and have no pain or discomfort.

Been there several month ago my friend:

Belly button squeaks/squishes after deadlifts?
    8-week surgery recovery log (no lifting)

Basically:
    - Tried a belt, it didn't appear to help.
    - I got surgery, got it fixed, and don't regret it for a second.
    - Lifting didn't cause your hernia, but it will get worse, and if you lift, it will get worse more quickly.
    - You can ignore it, but you run the risk of having to have an "emergency" repair. That means you go to an ER and don't choose your surgeon - that's a bad thing.
    - I researched and picked my surgeon based on their complication rates, and got a very good one. Recovery for me was far easier than I had anticipated.

-->Adam

Thank you for the quick reply. I guess I'll stop lifting and call the surgeon tomorrow. I was just getting back to a good routine.

I had the mesh repair done last year. I think you'll be back at it in a week or two.

My suggestion would be to research your surgeon and not just instantly go with whomever your PCP recommends. I found this site helpful, and used it to help pick mine:

Surgeon Scorecard | ProPublica

Hernia surgery isn't listed, but go for laproscopic galbladder removal - that will get you folks that are good with laproscopic surgery.

-->Adam