starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Reoccurring tendinitis in shoulder when benching

Default Reoccurring tendinitis in shoulder when benching

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi Coach!
    I’ve searched your site on this subject, and found that in one instance you recommended giving the bench a rest and just doing standing overhead presses until the shoulder problem resolves.

I’d like to know if you have anything to add for my particular case. When I started lifting in 2013 at age 49 I totally over-trained the bench-press, being oblivious to my age and decades outside the gym. The radiologist doctor examined me with ultrasound found inflammation both in the pectoral and bicep tendons connecting to both shoulders. He diagnosed it as tendonitis.

For a period of three years it came and went. I would always down the weight after a flare up, and cautiously build back up over weeks with baby steps until the next flare up. Eventually the flare ups seemed to have ended, and I got my bench up to 120kgX3 exactly one year ago.

For whatever reason, I got another flare up a few months ago; attempting to just work through only made matters worse, so I gave regular benching a rest, and took anti-inflammatory-meds for a couple weeks. I found that the least irritable press is an inclined bench at 45 degrees with a standing press like grip (narrower than the regular bench) and elbows forward (like a standing press) and elbows closer to torso than the regular bench. The inclined bench feels great now – no irritation at low weights and high reps, but when I try regular benching with just a 20kg empty bar, I still feel irritation.

Is there any way to work through this faster?