starting strength gym

Thread: Mid clavicle pain

Post Mid clavicle pain

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I've been benching 2x a week for the past few months, but recently started getting some odd pain. Back when I started lifting I would get this sort of pain on dips, so I just steered away from them. 1.5 years later, the pain has started appearing whenever benching, first on my right clavicle only on very heavy sets, then on the left clavicle too, and now even lighter weights or a single push up rep hurts.

For anyone who's had forearm/shin splints, the pain I feel is exactly the same. It's on the middle of the bone, so I doubt it's a problem with AC or SC joint. Also, slower reps seem to be more bearable, around a tempo of 3-2-3, but still cause some discomfort, albeit not classifiable as pain. I've never broken nor dislocated a clavicle. Any help is greatly appreciated and I can give more info if necessary.

Muscle insertional pain / tendon pain responds very well to heavy slow resistance training. I prefer 3-1-2 tempos since they move a bit more intuitively than 3-2-3s. I'd also recommend exchanging one of your bench days for Spoto Presses.

Thank you for replying. So do you think I should keep doing the 3 sets of 5 for bench but lower the weight so that i can complete the 3-1-2 tempo? I've also started taking naproxen 2 days ago, not sure if it'll help.
    On top of that, I'm pretty light, being 172lbs for a 6' guy. Being this light probably isn't helping my connective tissue safety during heavy lifts. Again, thank you for the help, I'll follow the program and do the sets with that tempo. If you think any more info could help you be sure of the issue, please ask.

Quote Originally Posted by Elture View Post