starting strength gym

Thread: Back tweaks easily

Default Back tweaks easily

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Dear Nick,

Since my early 20s I have had a lower back that hurts and that easily tweaks. Often it happened without any clear reason. I went to see a doctor and he examined my back and said to start training with weights. And so I did and held the pain in check.

In my late 20s I stopped lifting because I did a lot of heavy manual labor and got kids that needed my attention. With older kids and the change to a desk office job I began to feel that my low back started to hurt again. It came sneaking up on me and eventually at the start of 2020 I started lifting again, doing the linear progression 3x5 program as described in PPST. I am now 39 years, weighing 210 pounds at 5 feet 10".

Since I started training again I have had three back tweaks, two in my lower back and one in my upper back. All three happened during deadlifiting. The one where my upper back tweaked sounded pretty bad, but healed fast by training with reduced load. The two times where my lower back tweaked happened quietly.

Generally I feel stiff in the mornings, but after an hour or so I am fine. Also after doing bench press I often feel something, but I am still able to complete most workouts. I am ok to live with this issue, but it would have been nicer to not get these tweaks specially because it stalls progress for the deadlift. I am now lifting more or less the same weight on squats as on deadlifts because I am afraid to push myself on the deadlifting.

An example how I warmed up last time my back tweaked: Dynamic warmup, 5x45 - 5x135 - 5x205 - 5x250 - 5x285 - 5x320 - "1/2»x355.

Do you think something can be done with this? I am not willing to do any surgery, then I would rather live with the current situation.

Best regards,
    Stan

Stan,