starting strength gym

Thread: Help with programming

Default Help with programming

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hi

I hope to get some advice from Mark Rippetoe or someone about programming.

I’ve been training SS and Texas Method (2017) since 2012. I’m 46 and weigh around 200lbs. I live in Sweden, I hope it’s somewhat understandable as english is not my native tongue. Also, we don’t have any SSC in Sweden.

Currently (PRs)
    Squat 1x429 (2x451)
    Deadlift 1x407 (1x424)
    Bench 1x203 (2x209)
    Press 1x137 (1x154)
    Barbell row 1x242 (1x292)

I’m doing Texas Method, weights as ”currently” and as in Texas Method.

Sunday
    Squat 3x5
    Bench/Press 3x5
    Deadlift 1x5

Tuesday
    Squat 2x5
    Press/Bench 3x5
    Barbell row 3x2 / 2x3 / 1x5
    Chins

Thursday
    Squat 3x2 / 2x3 / 1x5
    Bench/Press 3x2 / 2x3 / 1x5
    Deadlift 3x2 / 2x3 / 1x5

So, my dilemma. I have cystic fibrosis, a chronical disease, it mostly effects the lungs, but other parts as well. I’m always feeling ”sick” and bloodtests shows constatly inflammation/infection. As you have the flu and/or pneumonia all the time. I am prescribed painkillers to ease this. As of now I’m waiting to change medication, cuz this one feels like I’m not on any medication at all. Thus feeling pretty sick all the time. I really can’t manage 3 times per week, it just takes to long.

I’m wondering if I could ”spread” the training over more days? Say 4-5 days, to get each session done as quickly as possible.

To something like this.

Week 1
    1 Squat volume
    2 Bench volume / Barbell row
    3 Deadlift 1x5 / chins
    4 Bench intensity / Press ”resting” or volume
    5 Squat intensity

Week 2
    1 Deadlift 1x5
    2 Bench resting or volume / Press volume
    3 Squat volume / Barbell row
    4 Press intensity / Chins
    5 Deadlift intensity