starting strength gym

Thread: outer hip pain from deadlift/broncy horses

Default outer hip pain from deadlift/broncy horses

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hello all, I'm looking for some guidance on a hip issue I've been having for about 5 months. I started lifting about December and progressed well, starting with a squat of 135 after not lifting since my teens (I'm now 45) and was squatting 315 for sets in early March. I'm 6'1 235 and active. I injured my left lower back and hip doing deadlifts in about January. The pain was minor and I did not notice when it happened, but starting having pretty excruciating pain when transitioning from sitting to standing. My squat was not affected, but any amount of deadlifting would aggravate the problem immediately after my workout. After several months now of progressively increasing pain, I've had a month of chiro and 1 week out of 6 of PT. The consensus seems to be gluteal tendonopathy, but the docs are wishy washy about it. The problem is at its worst when I drive and sit in a chair for more than 15 minutes. It's not arthritis and there is no fracture. The pain disappears with activity for the most part but has been degenerative. PT consists of various hip stretches and glute excercises, and torturing it with a foam roller and dry needling. Chiro has not helped the issue, PT has just started. I'm wondering if anyone else on here can confirm the diagnosis, because the specific symptoms don't seem to fit any of the usual suspects of hip pain perfectly, which may be normal in its self. On an additional note, I ride a lot of young horses and spend 6 to 10 hours a week horseback, cutting cattle, roping and general bridal horse training. I feel the pain to a degree at the trot only, and it typically goes away after 10 or 15 strides. I took a hard fall off a 3 year old about a year ago, directly onto the hip in question. It hurt a