starting strength gym

Thread: Tricep pain and squats

Default Tricep pain and squats

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I don't think I've ever had a low bar squat session that didn't hurt my left tricep.
    I feel it in the tendons, just above and toward the outside of my elbow. I also feel it deep in my armpit where the tricep ties in, and general tightness along my triceps muscles.

I've been doing the low bar stretch every day for the last 2 months. I also do PVC pass throughs and around the worlds.
    And I moved the bar up higher on my back - I now jam it backwards up under the spine of my scapula before standing up.

I also read all the threads I could find on the matter and as a result have tried really hard to avoid "holding" the bar with my arms or pushing on it. I do notice that on really hard reps, my elbows shake back and forth like you see of people's legs do during a tough deadlift.

I was just starting to be really proud of how far my mobility had come when the "dull throb after every workout" became "intollerable sharp pain that made me miss on bench/OHP" for the last three sessions in a row.

This session I tried to put my press before my squats, and back off the squat 10%. But I still failed my press and couldn't get past set one of the squat.

Here is my last squat before the pain set in (155, I'm 160 and 5'5)
    August 25, 2020 - YouTube

Here's where I started from July 1:
    Low bar squat 1 - YouTube

Do you see anything else wrong with my squat?
    What do I do now to get back on track?

Just standing, let your arms hang relaxed. Now, hold your upper arm against your sides. If they're not externally rotated, rotate them. Keep them there while going under the bar, squeezing your chest up and shoulder blades together.

Quote Originally Posted by stef View Post