starting strength gym

Thread: German doing dumb shit in his home gym then asking strangers for medical advice

Default German doing dumb shit in his home gym then asking strangers for medical advice

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey guys,

I’m new here so here’s a short introduction:

I’m a German pharmacist, mid twenties, weighing in at 200 lbs at the moment, 6 foot. Training for 8 years consistently. Fucked around the first 4 years as I didn’t know what to do. Didn’t eat enough for a long time, changed that about 2 years ago. Seriously upped my schnitzel intake.

So, because of the COVID situation gyms are closed, I set up a home gym, it’s outside and it’s around 0-10° C (0 is the freezing point of water for you Fahrenheit guys, so I think that’s about 32-50° F). Since then I got a problem. During squats, it happened two times in the last 4 weeks, I let my lower back collapse in the hole with around 300 on my back and both times when I got half the way back up, there was a sting on the right side of my lower back and upper hip and the workout was over. I also believe that my hip shifted to the right on this rep.

Squat form is usually tight. Got the problem I’m going too deep sometimes but I got that in check with a partner screaming “UP!” at me. Here I wasn’t focused because of some outside factors.

It happened 2 days ago, at first I couldn’t get out of bed after laying down. It got progressively worse the first 12 hours. Now it’s getting better, took an ibuprofen and a bit of a muscle relaxant and chilled out a bit. Last time it took about 4 days, so in time for the next workout where I didn’t have problems.

Now symptoms are:

- Pain on the right side of the hip above and under the end of the hip bone (iliac crest)

- Pain during laying down an contracting my glutes