starting strength gym

Thread: Recurring lower back injury and pain

Default Recurring lower back injury and pain

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I'm a 6'0, 275lbs 28 year old man. I started lifting again in April after 3 years off and a huge weight gain of around 90 pounds. Due to my previous strength training (5 years before I stopped), I managed to add a decent amount of weight to all my lifts in the span of a month while doing SS. By early May, I had a 308lbs 3x5 squat and a 397lbs 1x5 deadlift.

My first injury occurred during an attempt at a 402lbs deadlift. On the first rep, I felt a sudden sharp pain on the right side of my lower back while the bar was barely off the ground. I consider myself an experienced lifter, having lifted much higher figures earlier in my life but I cannot rule out a form problem as the cause of that injury as I had no one watching me. That day I couldn't bend over to tie my shoes, but after 3 days the pain somewhat subsided and became more of an annoyance. I decided to rest for 10 days, and by day 11 all I felt was minor tightness occasionally but no pain.

On the 11th day , I went back in and attempted to find where my squat weight was. I slowly built up to 286lbs and managed to do a set of 5. Then during the 3rd rep of the 2nd set, I felt the same kind of sharp pain during the very last part of the movement. In this instance I was sure the form wasn't a problem as I was very careful, and figured that the injury simply hadn't healed properly. I decided to give myself a huge amount of time to recover this time, and only went to the gym again yesterday after 2 months.