starting strength gym

Thread: Pain in posterior shoulder after lifting, request MRI?

Default Pain in posterior shoulder after lifting, request MRI?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I have been lifting for many years. As of late, I have been having some intermittent pain in my posterior shoulder that randomly comes up. There is no movement that triggers it. It happens usually on the day that I have done chin-ups, so i suspect that may have something to do with it. Doing the chin-up is painless.

The intermittent pain is very short (fraction of a second) but quite intense. It feels like an inflammatory type of pain, possibly radiating from somewhere else in the shoulder.

While trying to figure out if I can find a specific movement that causes pain, I did notice that when i push my arm very hard laterally against a wall and then suddenly release, that the release gives me a short burst of pain.

I was wondering what my next step should be. I know the doctor will not give me an MRI because it's too mild. Should I go abroad and pay out of my own pocket for a commercial MRI, or is there little concern for worry?

Thank you very much

Abroad? A competent Physical Therapist can diagnose this with a physical exam.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Abroad? A competent Physical Therapist can diagnose this with a physical exam.
    Thank you. Yes I live in the netherlands, I have to go to germany if I want an MRI without referral.

The thing is, I am especially afraid that I might have an osteophyte in my AC region, that's why I'd want an MRI.

If you suspect an osteophyte, you need an MRI to confirm.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    If you suspect an osteophyte, you need an MRI to confirm.
    What would for you be reason to suspect an osteophyte? Would any long-term pain in the shoulder, whether you feel it during training or not, be reason to get an MRI?