starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Petechiae in experienced lifter?

Default Petechiae in experienced lifter?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    After (during, actually) my two workouts this week I've noticed what appears to be petechiae on my hands, shoulders, the base of my neck, plus where the bar sits on my back for squats. I've been lifting consistently for more than seven years now and never had this happen before. I know it's not terribly unusual among lifters and not of any real concern as the patches fade overnight, but I'm just wondering if others have seen it appear out of the blue like this. I can't think of anything that has changed in my daily routine (eating, sleeping, precription drugs, etc.) other than I hadn't been in the gym for about 18 days due to a vacation prior to the first workout this week. I've got my annual physical coming up soon and will mention it to my doctor, just for completeness.
    Thanks.

What do you expect your doctor to say when you mention it to him?

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    What do you expect your doctor to say when you mention it to him?
    You know, I was going to leave that last sentence out because I just knew what the response would be. :-) I included it because my limited research on petechiae indicates there can be underlying causes other than lifting heavy weights (admittedly none of which seem applicable to my situation). My doctor is your typical GP and he knows about my lifting and doesn't discourage it. To answer your question directly, I expect him to say it's due to my lifting and not to worry about it. The main point of my post was wondering if others have had the experience of lifting for several years without experiencing this and then having it suddenly appear and why that might happen.