starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: deadlift injury - neck and trap area?

Default deadlift injury - neck and trap area?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Good morning athletes,

I've been lifting for 4 years and I've had some injuries in the past: golfer's elbow, shoulder, chest, adductor, hips

But this one from yesterday has stunned me.

I was going for a deadlift PR, and I did hit the PR. However, when I started the pull, I forgot to pull my head back, so I was looking down and I felt a sudden sting/stitch (felt like one) at the left side of my neck/trap.

After the movement and today, I feel a burn around the front of the neck and trap area running down to the upper chest.

I feel it most whenever I try pull my chin to the upper chest and a bit when I try to extend my neck (like, making it upright).

I think it's the area of the scalene muscles and sternocleidomastedius. It feels extremely sore, but when I press on those parts, I don't feel any pain. So I really feel only pain whenver I make an upright upper body position, pulling my chin to the upper chest.

I tried to squat after deadlift yesterday. Impossible. I couldn't even stabilize 220 pounds, and I usually squat 450.

Anyone who had this? I know I'm not gonna deadlift or squat until it's fully gone. But that does concern me...also I don't have any movement restrictions, but I feel like something happened internally. Maybe some nerve got clamped or something.

Please help me. Thanks in advance.

Update: today I've trained for the first time since Wednesday when I sustained the injury. I was just taking dumbbells and going back to bench to do upper chest DB press and while walking and holding the DBs I felt a strong burn from the traps down to the upper chest area.

This is probably a neck injury, but I can't tell from here. If it's not better by Tuesday, get it looked at.