starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Calf strain that won’t go away

Default Calf strain that won’t go away

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hi everyone,

To make a long story short, I first tore my calf in 2018 and it healed, although I didn’t rehab it properly and tore it again a year later in late 2019.

Then I started working a physical labor job and for two years my leg was swollen and felt like crap.

I have been working in an office for the past four months and my leg feels much better, but is still swollen.

I went to PT in December 2021 and it loosened up my calves but still had swelling. I’m not sure if I should even be doing PT with swelling?

My doctor hasn’t been much help so I came here because I trust the members of this forum more than anywhere online in terms of training etc.

No idea what to do, if I should be icing it or not? I started icing it again a few months ago.

I’m considering going back to PT but again not sure if the swelling should be gone or not before trying to strengthen the muscle.

Any input greatly appreciated. I just want to workout again more than anything.

Ice is bullshit. There is a scar in your calf where the tear healed improperly. And you may have a DVT developing. Probably needs an ultrasound exam.

The last ultrasound I had was March 23rd or so, they said everything was clear.

So I won’t ice it anymore. I just feel like if I pick up my lawn mower or something like that it’s going to prevent my leg from healing. Not sure what I should be doing. It’s been swollen for a long time. Thanks Mark

It would be really good to know why it is swollen.