starting strength gym

Thread: Valsalva/spontaneous pneumothorax

Default Valsalva/spontaneous pneumothorax

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I started training a couple months pre-covid. Which I worked my Squat 195lb, BP 160lb/Press 100lb, DL 285(6'1" 205lbs)

I bought a rack and finally got back to training 07/09/22. I started back off at Squat 135lbs, BP 135lbs, Press 80lbs, DL 135lbs(6'1" 275lbs). On my 16th session I squatted 180lbs and BP 170lbs. Unfortunately, I had to stop and couldn't DL the 220lbs that session. (10-16-22)On my 17th session since I did not DL I re-squat 180lbs.

On my 2nd set 3rd rep about halfway out the hole, along the medial border of my right scapula it popped approx. 5x superior to inferior. This wouldn't be the first time I had some awkward pops(My last session pre-covid in the press, it felt like my right scapula popped back and down at lock out of my 1st set. I've had better mobility and the shoulder discomfort I dealt with for years went away). I paused at the top for about 5-10 seconds just to gauge everything. I then did the 4th and 5th rep and racked the bar. I felt a whole bunch of inflation in the scapula, typical body response. This happened at about 12:45pm. I spent the next 12 to 15 minutes moving the shoulder around making sure there were no serious issues. 3rd set, reps 1 through 5 felt great!

I unloaded the bar and decided to press instead of bench again. Which I chose to redo my last press.

45x5x2
    60x3x1
    75x2x1
    95x1x1

110x5x1 Once I racked the bar I damn near collapsed. So approx 30-45 minutes went by between scapula pop and the completion of set.