starting strength gym

Thread: Upper arm tendon pain and bar position

Default Upper arm tendon pain and bar position

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I recently started training again after hernia surgery in July. My last 2 squat sessions led to pain in my left arm. Here is a picture showing exactly where it hurts. I can pinpoint the pain to a tendon here (sort of between my outer bicep and triceps) by touching it, and I have pain and weakness up my arm to my shoulder.
    unnamed (1).jpg

I don't have a video of the squats (will take video on Monday), but from what I read on the forum, seems like I've got the bar in the wrong spot and/or my back isn't tight enough so the weight is resting in my hands. I've been using the cue to pinch my shoulder blades together, but something isn't working correctly.

1. What is this type of pain called? Is it golfer's elbow, bicep tendonitis, something else?
    2. Which of the 3 images below is closest to a correct positioning of the bar? My shoulders are very tight (repaired my right labrum 10.5 years ago), and I always feel like the bar isn't low enough, so I stretch my shoulders past their limit to get the bar into the correct position. But I think that causes my elbows to go up too much.

Narrowest/highest
    IMG-8363.jpg

Wider/lower
    IMG-8364.jpg

Widest/lowest
    IMG-8365.jpg

Looks like tennis elbow (lateral epicondylitis). Do the chin-up protocol.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    I see, ok. Thanks Coach!

I read this article on the protocol, and remember a podcast where you discussed it. One thing is unclear though: should I (will I be able to) continue training normally while doing the rehab? I just started NLP 2 weeks ago and would love to continue.