starting strength gym

Thread: SLAP Tear diagnosis - what next?

Default SLAP Tear diagnosis - what next?

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Coach Rip,
    I've been doing my NLP for about 10 months now at SS Idaho, but have been held back by shoulder issues. I finally got an MRI and was diagnosed with a SLAP tear and some osteoarthritis. I'll add the details below in the hopes that you can answer a couple of questions. Any advice you can offer would be greatly appreciated, with the understanding that you're not a doctor. As this is my first post, let me also add a thank you for putting Starting Strength together in the first place, it's made a huge difference in my life and my partner's life (she lifts too!) already.

1. Is surgery optional, mandatory, worthless?
    2. Are there any alternatives, apart from just lifting through it?
    3. I've been strict pressing, squatting with the safety bar, and haven't been benching at all - even close grip, pinned press seemed to aggravate the shoulder. Should I stick with this, are there any other modifications I should make, should I just accept the pain and lift through it as best I can?
    4. Are there any other exercises I should add as part of a rehab program?

My details: I'm 48, male, 5'11", 240 lbs, been training 10 months, on T, and my PRs: 340 squat with the safety bar (I've always had trouble with shoulder pain trying to get under the low bar/high bar), 360 deadlift, 155 normal press/135 strict press, 200 bench before the shoulder made me quit.

The MRI details:
    Impression
    1. SLAP tear from the 2:00 to 9:00 position (3:00 anterior).
    2. Acromioclavicular joint osteoarthritis with prominent periarticular edema.
    3. Tendinopathy of supraspinatus and infraspinatus.
    Narrative
    HISTORY: Left shoulder pain, unspecified chronicity.
    COMPARISON: August 24, 2022