starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Deadlifting on the 25mm bar

Default Deadlifting on the 25mm bar

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Rip,
    1.When the grip fails on the deadlift, have you seen your athletes(especially if they have smaller fingers) do more reps/lift more weight on the womens bar?
    2. I have no experience with bumper plates. If you live in close quarters is the investment in bumper plates justified purely as a measure to reduce noise?

Thank you for your time.

1. We don't let the boys use the woman's bar so that they can deadlift more without strengthening their little grip. The 25 mm bar is expensive and it is designed for females to use for the snatch and the C&J, no for boys to avoid addressing their problems.

2. Perhaps.

Sounds like Fibro possibly

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    1. We don't let the boys use the woman's bar so that they can deadlift more without strengthening their little grip. The 25 mm bar is expensive and it is designed for females to use for the snatch and the C&J, no for boys to avoid addressing their problems.

2. Perhaps.

A case caught early, perhaps?

Thank you for your answer. Is it your argument that all things that we pick off the ground comes in size 28.5 mm and that it is not worth using the 25mm bar to strengthen your back when your grip fails? Or are you going to tell you athletes that if some thing measures lesser than 28.5mm not to pick it up off the floor? I have never seen the womens bar, far less used it and just wanted to know if there was any real world difference.
    But what the heck am I railing about? Indebted for your time and patience.

When the grip fails, you go to an alternate/mixed grip or to a hook grip or straps as discussed in the book.