starting strength gym

Thread: Shift worker progression and stall

Default Shift worker progression and stall

• starting strength seminar october 2024
    • starting strength seminar december 2024
    • starting strength seminar february 2025
    Hi Mark,

firstly thanks for the awesome books, I've bought read both SS and PPST2 and they are by far the best resource out there. It's a shame more people don't realise and I spread the word where possible.

After deciding to get stronger and messing around with silly complicated programs, I've been doing SS for the last 6-9 months.

I'm in Sydney, Australia, I'm 6', weigh 94kg (207lbs), 33 years old. I was 73kgs, hardly ate anything, smoked 1 pack a day, and drank a lot of coke. I was like that from my early twenties.

I was very active growing up, played a lot of sport (a lot of basketball) and was always pretty fit, but weak.

To get to it, I've stalled on my current lifts. I'll post form vids ASAP, but assuming my form is 'reasonable', I'm unsure if I have possibly reached limit of linear progression.

Squat 3x5 @ 92kg (using 1kg incremements)
    Bench 3x5 @ 66kg (using 0.5kg increments)
    Press 3x5 @ 45.5kg (using 0.5kg increments)
    Deadlifts 1x5 @ 115kg (using 2.5kg increments)
    Cleans 5x3 @ 61kg (using 1kg increments)

I know that these are low, and I've been putting off asking because I didn't want to waste your time, but I reset twice and have been eating a lot (half GOMAD on top of a lot of food) and are still gaining weight but it's seemingly just fat now.