Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Nutrition advice on this board

Default Nutrition advice on this board

I see that Mr. Sheaffer, your nutrition expert, espouses a lot of the old bodybuilding dogma. Examples are separating carbs and fats in the same meal, eating many small meals for some sort of metabolism effect, etc. He also dismissed intermittent fasting without providing an explanation (admittedly, IF has very little good research on it at the moment).

This, combined with his refusal to discuss research being performed in his field has made me skeptical of his motivations.

Care to comment?

Sure. What is your evidence for your position? Why is he wrong? I see nothing here except the fact that you appear to be offended by the fact that John and I do not like the current shitty state of the literature.

Starting Strength Seminars

I think you misunderstand me, Mark. I am not an expert, and I failed at getting Mr. Sheaffer to explain his feelings on carbs/fat combining here:

http://startingstrength.com/resource...t=texas&page=2

After his post, I tried in vain to find where he had already explained it.

To answer your questions:

I have no evidence of my own, but the people you previously referred us to for nutritional info have presented extensive arguments against these practices, using evidence mostly from studies (I realize you don't think these studies are valid).

I don't know that he is wrong, but without any explanation from him I don't know that he is right.