starting strength gym

Thread: 20 rep squats and level of advancement

Default 20 rep squats and level of advancement

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I was doing advanced novice SS when I though I could use a change of pace as I've been doing SS for the last 8 months, so I'm currently doing a 20 rep squats program to evaluate my testicular fortitude and get rid of any jeans that still fit my legs.
    I have a question and an observation that might be of your interest.

-How does one increase the weight on a 20 rep squat in various levels of advancement? From what I understand, Strossen's book is geared towards novices with all the "30 pounds in 6 weeks" stuff which can only be novice gains. It seems that from the sources I gathered, one is supposed to add 5 lbs every workout. I can't see an intermediate adding 90 lbs to their 20 RM in 6 weeks or gaining 30 pounds of BW.

That being so, am I right to assume that an intermediate would add 5 lbs/week to his squats while doing a 20 rep program?

-As a person of nerdy tendencies, I borrowed a pulse oxymeter to check oxygen saturation and how it is affected by 20 rep squats. To my surprise, it didn't fall at all, always remaining above 96% in the three occasions I measured it, which was right after racking the bar. Just thought you might be interested in this piece of data.

When I do see Jesus in a couple of weeks during my set of 20, I'll tell him you said hi.

My experience with 20-rep squats indicates that the nasty bastards are best done once/week with 10 lb. jumps, at the intermediate level. Novices will not find this an optimum program. This might work for 6 weeks if you get out without knee tendinitis.

So, suppose one does the set of 20 on monday, what should one squat on wednesday and friday?

This is almost exactly what has happened to me.
    I've been doing 20 rep squats for the past 7 weeks.

Some stats.
    33 years old
    5'11" or so
    88kg