starting strength gym

Thread: Hello Rip, Hello Starting Strenth!

Default Hello Rip, Hello Starting Strenth!

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I am new to this site, but very very very pleased to be here! I am 30 yr old male, 6'1, 215#, Men's Division I rugby player for the Austin Blacks (live in Victoria, TX - south of Austin). I mention the rugby because I am not a competitive lifter, but a very competitive rugby player. Of course, most everything I do in the gym has function out on the field. The bigger, stronger, faster I can be, the better rugby player I am!

My brief lifting background is as follows. I started lifting as most kids do in high school sports. I was a skinny little shit in high school, but pretty fast and very tough (always had a high pain threshhold ha ha). What I remember from those days are basically what it should have been - a starting base for your main lifts - squats, bench, cleans, deads, etc. Lots of that stuff, lots of sprints.

I started at Baylor University in 2000, and we won a DII Collegiate National Championship in 2001 in rugby. Our practices were very structured, our fitness was structured, our running outside of practice was structured, but where we had ZERO guidance was in the gym. Being a club sport, with the resources we had, we just didn't have time for proper gym training as a team.