starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: No plates smaller than 5 pounds

Default No plates smaller than 5 pounds

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Hey Rip,

I'll start off by saying I've been doing SS for the past 2 months now or so, although I did reset practically all of my lifts because I realized I was using bad form. I'm 14, 5'8 and about 176 pounds (I was always sort of skinny-fat). I didn't take my weight or body fat when I started the program and I regret it, but at the beginning of this school year (September) I weighed 135 pounds at the same height, and couldn't bench the bar, not even once. I've been drinking half a gallon of whole milk daily, and eat close to 3500 calories every day. My gains have been OK so far, except I have one problem. My gym doesn't have any plates smaller than 5 pounds. I was thinking of ordering some 2.5 pound plates online and taking them with me when I go to the gym to make 5 pound jumps, but thought I might ask you first. What I've been doing thus far is trying to get 5 reps with whatever weight, moving up 10 pounds the next workout, and just getting as many reps as I can with that weight, usually like 3 or 4 with squats, 2 or 3 with bench, and 1 or 2 with the press. The workout after that I try to go for 5 with everything except the press, which I usually get like 3 or 4.

What would you recommend?
    These are my lifts right now: 195x5 squat, 225x5 deadlift (probably would be a hell of a lot better if my gym didn't have those awful hexagonal plates), 135x5 bench, 135x5 row, 105x3 press. Just got back from vacation; hopefully they didn't go down.

thanks in advance.

You not only need 2.5s, but you need some 1.25s also. Save up your money and get them. They don't have to be new.