starting strength gym
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Stalling early(?) on squat?

Default Stalling early(?) on squat?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Rip,

I am 36 yrs old and 180 lbs / 6'0". I've been doing SS for about 6 weeks. Before that, I had been doing an intermediate program (madcow 5x5) for about a year (that was when I started training initially). My squat went from about 95x5 to 185 x 5. Then I found out I was training wrong / eating wrong and needed a novice program, so I switched to SS.

Before starting SS, I weighed 165 lbs and wasn't eating a lot. Now, I eat 4000-5000 calories a day (no milk -- it destroys my GI tract -- lactaid doesn't help -- but I do eat 2 lbs of beef a day). I have put on 15 lbs since starting SS.

I have been doing 5 lb squat increases per workout and I am at 215 x 5 for 3 sets now. However, the squat seems to get harder and harder every workout. It is to the point now where after 3 reps I have to pause for a few breaths before reps 4 and 5. All the reps feel very hard, but rep 5 takes 4-5 seconds to rise up out of the hole.

Is it normal for the squats to just feel really, really hard as the weight goes up? The other lifts don't feel comparatively as intense and are still progressing.

What I'm wondering is, is it possible that I'm stalling already? Would it be unheard of for someone to need advanced novice programing (or intermediate programming) at only 215 lbs?

I should have said earlier... this happened at 205 before and I tried a 10% backoff reset and climbed back up to 215 and it feels the same as it did before.