starting strength gym
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Injury prone?

Default Injury prone?

• starting strength seminar april 2024
    • starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    Hey Rip,

I'm around 185lbs 5ft10 and 22 years old. I've been training for over 2 years now, but much of that has been blighted by injuries. The past year I've made little to no progress because of literally going from one injury to another. I've had hamstring, groin, rotator cuff, lower back, tricep, pectorial and many other niggling problems over the past year and I'm now beginning to feel as if there may be something fundamentally wrong with my body. Believe me, it's not a low pain threshold that is the problem, in fact at first it was the very opposite- I used to train even after the tell tail signs; although I don't do that anymore.

I know this all seems very vague, and it may seem more important to talk about each injury in turn and try to find a corresponding flaw in my form, but I've also been training with friends that haven't adhered to form as strictly as I have and they haven't had half the trouble.

I'd find it really helpful if you could share your knowledge of anything similar you might have come across with any particular individual(s) who are 'injury prone', is that possible?

Thanks.

Some people have poorer soft-tissue integrity than others. But most are just too damned light for their height and for heavy training. Gain 15 pounds and let's see how you feel.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Gain 15 pounds and let's see how you feel.
    I used to frequently get injured trying to lift at 6'2" and 180 pounds. Putting on 50 pounds, lifting correctly, and getting stronger resulted in my joints feeling better and I recover from little tweaks much faster.

Just to echo your sentiments, jmz