starting strength gym

Thread: zercher squat relative volume

Default zercher squat relative volume

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Coach Rip,

I wanted to ask you if you think if it's easier to overtrain zercher squats when compared to back squats - maybe due to the similar feel to deadlifts (concentric starting position, relative lack of stretch reflex maybe) - and if a person training with minimal equipment like myself and therefore NDTFP should substitute the squat with it's zercher variant with less volume in a trying-to-emulate-SS-with-no-power-rack program?

I'm only asking because up until recently I did zercher squats 3x a week and I think I was getting overtraining symptoms.

I have no experience with zerchers, and neither should you. They are not an alternative to squats, and they are not good for your elbows. Squat racks are not that exotic, so get some.