starting strength gym

Thread: Training Olympic Weightlifting with Chondromalacia

Default Training Olympic Weightlifting with Chondromalacia

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Dear Mark,

I started training for Oly-weightlifting in December 2011. I am 33y old, 195cm, 137kg
    I hit a 110kg snatch/140kg CnJ in February. My knees begun hurting when squatting and end february I was diagnosed witH Chondromalacia and doc suggested 15 days Meloxicam/one month rest & ice as often as I can

Started training early April but knees are not in "condition" to squat a lot. All competitions we aim for are after September. My coach suggests that we focus on training power clean/snatch and snatch/clean pulls and leave the squats for 2-3 weeks. Leg strenght was never a problem so he thinks we can get away with that. In the meantime we are doing several exercises with a band to "fortify" the knees

What is your experience with similar situations ? What would you do/suggest ?
    Thanks for your time to review

Regards
    Dman

I have found that chondromalacia heals while you squat, but front squats will aggravate it. Maybe you should be a splitter. You're starting the sport late, and you may have to make some adjustments.

Quote Originally Posted by Mark Rippetoe View Post
    Maybe you should be a splitter. You're starting the sport late, and you may have to make some adjustments.
    Do you mean that he should try split snatch or both split snatch and split clean?

Both, if his knees are giving him constant trouble.

OP, how much high-bar squatting were you doing? If your coach has you doing lots of Oly/high-bar squatting, you might want to try switching to low-bar squats for your strength work. I find that low-bar squatting is far easier on the knees.

Quote Originally Posted by dman257 View Post
    Dear Mark,