starting strength gym
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Ulnar Nerve Transposition

Default Ulnar Nerve Transposition

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    I've been back 2 months after a 5 month recovery from the surgery.

I was wondering if I have anything to worry about as my cleans get heavier. Have you ever heard of this injury being caused by the lift?

It had a very fast onset previously (2 days and half my hand was permenantly asleep).

I had severe muscle wastage of (forgive me for not knowing its name) the muscle between your thumb and hand which is just starting to grow back...

Do you think I have anything to worry about proceeding with heavier weights?

I don't know. I have no experience with this injury.

I don't know about the procedure you had, but on the ventral (palmar) side of your hand the thumb, pointer, and middle finger are innervated by your median nerve, not your ulnar nerve -- what you're describing is what can be seen in really bad carpal tunnel syndrome where the median nerve is what gets fried.

Sounds like if anything it would affect your ability to achieve a heavy grip. It also might result in "ulnar deviation" of the hand, i.e. because you have more ulnar than median nerve input your hand deviates at the wrist towards the 'pinky' side and not the thumb side.

If there isn't some surgical reason why lifting is contraindicated it sounds like only experimenting with heavier weights will tell you to what degree grip strength and hand positioning is a limiting factor.

Quote Originally Posted by Paul1 View Post
    I don't know about the procedure you had, but on the ventral (palmar) side of your hand the thumb, pointer, and middle finger are innervated by your median nerve, not your ulnar nerve -- what you're describing is what can be seen in really bad carpal tunnel syndrome where the median nerve is what gets fried.