starting strength gym

Thread: novice adaptation question

Default novice adaptation question

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    • starting strength seminar october 2024
    Rip:

You've talked about how with the novice effect the linear progression slows (smaller jumps) as the novice moves up in weights. I am a novice lifter that is very deconditioned from a 4 month layoff, but was getting closer to more of an "Advanced Novice" stage at the point when I had to take the layoff due to life putting its foot up my ass.

My question is, should I be able to bounce back a little quicker to that Advanced Novice stage than what it would take for someone who has never lifted before? Meaning, should I be able to sustain 10lb jumps on the squat for a longer period of time?

For example, at the point of layoff, my work sets were as follows:
    SQ: 275
    DL: 345
    PC: 165
    BP: 220
    OP: 130

My most recently completed work sets are:
    SQ: 205 10lb jumps
    DL: 255 15lb jumps (DLing once a week currently)
    BP: 150 5lb jumps
    OP: 100 5lb jumps
    PC: 135 5lb jumps (probably lighter than necessary at the moment)

Also, my bench started out frighteningly weak... a week ago 145 wasn't easy. This week, 150 was easy enough to crank out 8 reps on the last set with no problem. Maybe I am just being impatient, but I am just AMAZED at how fast I lost all that progress. Never ever again will I let this happen.

If you're not back to those numbers in 4 weeks, you're being a pussy. It comes back faster than it goes away.

Smooth re-entry after various length lay-offs at various levels of training advancement would make for an interesting article/sticky. Maybe combined with some rehab pointers (even if it's just the advice that these are too individual and have to be addressed on a case-by-case basis)?

Or does this already exist? I seem to have a habit lately of asking questions that have already been answered...