starting strength gym
Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Clarification for the BJJ population

• starting strength seminar jume 2024
    • starting strength seminar august 2024
    I don't see how one can't do both. Personally, I do BJJ, karate, JKD, and boxing while lifting 3x a week.

What you're forgetting is that martial arts is heavily dependent on movement patterns, sensitivity, and application. You shouldn't be overexerting yourself when you're rolling or sparring because otherwise you're probably be picking up bad habits.

In addition to this, you should be able to tell you're instructors about your lifting, and I'd imagine they'd understand if you'd have to leave after the third roll.

More isn't always better. If you're doing too many rounds with the mitts or you're rolling until you're throwing up as a novice martial artist I guarantee you're just enforcing terrible form. For me lifting is a good excuse not to push it too hard, and it should be the same for everyone else.

Quote Originally Posted by veryhrm View Post
    I'm down w/ the overall advice and i've said the same to several people down in Training and Programming over the past couple of years. However i have a bone to pick with this sentence:
    "Someone who grapples 5 days a week will have a hell of a time doing the program unless they're willing to eat and sleep enough to recover. "

This says that "someone", in context meaning a moderately serious MA person, COULD do the program while grappling 5 times a week if only the eat and sleep enough.
    Do you actually believe this to be the case? I'm guessing you don't because it's at odds w/ the rest of your message, but it is just these kinds of statements that cause the confusion that OP is talking about (and also how people end up being 5' 8" 220lbs w/ a 225lbs squat thinking they need to eat more).

Let me say how i think most MA people, or indeed any hard charging motivated person, would perceive your message: